New to the RMH world....

Rocket Mass Heaters, Rocket Ovens, Cold boxes, Solar collectors, etc..
Talk about your projects

Moderator: matt walker

New to the RMH world....

Postby EricVanWick » Fri Apr 18, 2014 7:16 pm

Hello from southwest Va! I'm new to both rocket mass heaters and forums! Hope I can make as much use of all this great info and experience as some of the other new arrivals :D Can't wait to get something going!
Thanks for approving me to join, Matt-
Eric
EricVanWick

Re: New to the RMH world....

Postby matt walker » Fri Apr 18, 2014 8:42 pm

Welcome Eric, glad to have you aboard man.
matt walker
Site Admin

Postby EricVanWick » Fri Apr 18, 2014 9:21 pm

Thank u and great to be here. I've been a wood stove guy for 3 yrs in the house my wife & I bought 4 yrs ago, and upon finding out about RMH's I started considering the amount of time spent amassing wood for our heat- so having been thoroughly satisfied by all that I've found online, I can tell that it's time to get moving in this direction. Many questions, of course, but a big one is locating a rocket mass heater in the basement of our small home and using the existing chimney- it's chimney block w/ 6" square clay tile liner- w/ a 6" thimble 4 ft off the slab, which ascends approx 22 ft to suitable height above the roofline- is this acceptable? The house is about 900 sq ft (first and only floor), full basement, and heats fine w/ the old wonderwood I've been using(just soooo much wood used tho). We have plenty of room in basement to stretch out some mass...
Any input would be GREATLY appreciated. BTW, I've seen nearly every video of yours I can find and am impressed w/ both the craftsmanship and the common sense narrative, even an oldish carpenter- turned-transformer technician can understand :lol:
Thanks again and hope to hear back!
Eric
EricVanWick

Postby matt walker » Fri Apr 18, 2014 10:05 pm