Keeping Bees

Grow some food and stuff!

Moderator: matt walker

Keeping Bees

Postby George Collins » Sat Jun 22, 2013 11:04 am

I am heavily researching beekeeping as the potential next phase of permsteading our place. Still I have some questions and was wondering if anyone here keeps bees.
"Solve world hunger, tell no one." "The, the, the . . . The Grinch!"

"If you can't beat them, bite them."
George Collins

Re: Keeping Bees

Postby mannytheseacow » Sat Jun 22, 2013 1:01 pm

I've been keeping bees a few years, George. I'm by no means an expert but I'd be happy to share what I know and learn from your experiences. Things might be different up north where I am but I went out of my way to get Russian bees and my hive has survived several seasons while many others round here have lost their colonies.
"Knowledge is power. Arm yourself."
mannytheseacow

Postby George Collins » Sun Jun 23, 2013 11:00 am

My first question is, is there a best time or a bad time to try and start a hive? Stated another way, if I were to knockout building a top bar hive over the course of the next week, would I have time to get a hive up and running this year or should this be put on the winter to-do list?
"Solve world hunger, tell no one." "The, the, the . . . The Grinch!"

"If you can't beat them, bite them."
George Collins

Postby GrahamB » Sun Jun 23, 2013 1:56 pm

George they are swarming around here at the moment. If you managed to capture a swarm they would settle in okay, but you probably wouldn't get any honey off them this year, unless you had an awesome pollen season. I got offered a swarm last week, but I didn't have my hive put together.
No matter how many mistakes you make or how slow you progress, you are still way ahead of everyone who isn’t trying.
GrahamB

Postby mannytheseacow » Sun Jun 23, 2013 2:44 pm